Toward a Technical Definition of Power

Post your research in political economy, share ideas and workshop your empirical work.

Moderator: sanha926

Toward a Technical Definition of Power

Postby stanr » Mon Nov 30, 2015 2:12 am

I originally encountered Capital as Power (CasP) by googling for "money as power" and then "capital as power". I was (and still am) working on theorizing a technical definition of power usable across the social sciences. My background is cognitive psychology, but I read widely in the social sciences.

I will try to link some of my work to the CasP framework and also provide some signposts to other bodies of work. In so doing I'm hoping to help nail down the material for the essay contest, but above all, provide some material of value for the other CasP researchers.

I hope that my criticisms will be seen as growing pains for a promising body of theory. CasP focused on explaining capital, not explaining power. Explaining power is incredibly difficult. Bridging folk notions of power with technical notions usable in analysis is even harder. Many have tried, many have failed. And so I will take my turn. But first, I begin with a critique of CasP minus the Cas.

CAPITAL AS (CONFIDENCE IN AN ESTIMATE OF) POWER

NB's ground-breaking Capital as Power has a lot to say about capitalization and business, but not much to say about power itself. What power means and how it relates to their cosmology seems to be left as mostly self-evident. On closer inspection, it's neither self-evident nor consistent. The good news is, the problems with their definitions of power hardly impact their insights about the economics of capital.